The Birth of a Miracle

It’s days like this that make me wish I were a journal-keeper. Unfortunately though, I’m neither poetic or thoughtful enough to maintain a written account of my life, so I have no idea what I was doing on this day one year ago. 

If I were to guess, I’d say I was probably cleaning the house or writing papers for school or something else entirely ordinary. Even though I can’t remember exactly what I was doing on May 31st last year, I do have a pretty good idea what I was thinking.

Why is this adoption taking so long?

I wonder if this wait is ever going to end…

Lord, will we ever have a baby?

By this point in 2011, Joseph and I had been in the adoption process for over a year and a half. In January, the Ethiopian government had announced it would drastically reduce the number of adoptions processed, a decision which left all waiting families with uncertain timetables. No one knew what to expect anymore.

But the Lord knew. He was in control, and that truth brought me comfort as I tried to keep my mind focused on the here and now instead of obsessing about what might be happening on the other side of the world.

So on May 31, 2011, while I was folding laundry or typing homework assignments and feeling like everything was exactly the same as it had always been and quite possibly would remain that way for the rest of my days on earth, I had no way of knowing that everything had already changed.

Surrounded as I was by all the ordinariness of another day spent in small-town North Carolina, I couldn’t possibly guess that somewhere, thousands of miles away, in a village in Ethiopia, my miracle was being born.

But the Lord knew. While we waited, He was at work, answering our prayers and sovereignly protecting the life of the tiny baby girl He had long ago determined would become our daughter as she entered the world and drew her first breath. 

Today we celebrate that day and all the things we know now that we could never have imagined then. Our God is truly good.

This is the day that the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Psalm 118:24

Happy 1st Birthday, Evangelle!

16 thoughts on “The Birth of a Miracle

  1. Happy Birthday Evangelle! I am so glad that you have finally arrived!

    Melissa, I don’t think I’ve ever left a comment before, but I have followed it for a while on and off. I’m so happy that your family is finally all in one place! May God bless you all!

  2. We are so happy! We LOVE that little girl! I was thinking as I read this about how the Lord put it on my heart to pray for literally months that you would hear good news on June1st of last year. I remember when that day came and I called to ask you if you had heard anything. When you told me no, my heart sank a bit. Now I look back and realize that there was truly was good news on June 1st :o) You just didn’t know it yet! Happy Birthday, sweet Evangelle!

  3. What a blessing! It was so fun to see your little girl so full of joy and happiness! God’s timing is always perfect. Happy birthday Evangelle!

  4. She’s birthday buddies with my sweet little Aubrey…just a week apart! How wonderful that she is in your arms for her first birthday. God is so good!

  5. Happy Birthday sweet girl! What an awesome picture! I love how God works behind the scenes for us as we go about the ordinary-ness of our day. Blessings for a wonderful celebration!

  6. Happy, Happy 1st Birthday Dear, sweet Evangelle!! So thankful you can celebrate your day with mommy and daddy by your side! :) May God bless you greatly as you grow each day!!!

  7. As always, your post made me cry! Happy happy b-day (one day late) to Evangelle!!! what a beautiful story of God’s perfect timing.

  8. LOVE this post and Happy Birthday, Evangelle!

    I love that the very month my husband & I met almost 17 years ago was the month our oldest adopted child was born into someone else’s arms to fill our lives later forever! Little did we know, too, that everything had changed right then, too!

    God’s timing is so amazing!

    Blessings!!!

  9. May 31 is the day our miracle baby, Samuel, was born. His adoption was finalized over a year ago and I can’t believe he is almost 2!

Leave a Reply

