A Birthday Tribute for a Sister

My sister and her family with Evangelle

Not everyone in the world has a sister. Among those that do, not too many can say they have a really great sister.

But I can. Her name is Niki.

The Lord gave her to me when I was just about 2 1/2 years old. I wish I could say that I appreciated His gift from the very beginning, but I guess it took me some time to figure the whole sister thing out. There’s a story told in my family which alleges that when Niki was only a baby, I poked her with a pencil because I was annoyed that she wouldn’t talk to me. All I can say is that I have no recollection of such an incident.

But even without any pencil-poking, I do know that Niki has always been a better sister than I deserved. Fortunately for me, she extended grace and kept me on as a family member long enough for me to start getting my act together and become the big sister I should be.

Over the last several years, the Lord has brought us closer together than we’ve ever been before. I can honestly say that Niki is my best friend. She’s second only to Joseph on my speed-dial list and has always been ready to share my greatest joys and deepest pain.

Two words come to mind when I think of my sister’s character—tender and compassionate.

I’ve found that few people I know are capable of entering into another’s world to listen, comfort, and feel what the other person is feeling quite as readily as Niki can. In her genuine concern for others, I see reflections of our Savior’s tender compassion.

If you were to compare us to Mary and Martha, Niki would definitely take the role of the one who understands the importance of sitting at our Lord’s feet. She has always seemed to be keenly aware of her dependence on Jesus.

Over the past 2 1/2 years, I’ve watched in admiration as Niki has begun passing this important quality on to her daughter Addison. Often when I call in the morning and ask Addison what she’s been doing, praying and reading her Jesus Storybook Bible with Mommy is the standard response. I can only pray the Lord will allow me to follow my sister’s example of faithfulness as I begin my own journey into motherhood.

Today is a special day; it’s my little sister’s birthday. Not everyone has a sister like Niki, but I’m so thankful that I do.

 

5 thoughts on “A Birthday Tribute for a Sister

  1. that’s awesome! happy birthday to your sister! I understand the bond of sisters and truly know how special it is!

Leave a Reply

