Breaking out of “My Own Little World”

I told you recently about my excitement over the release of Matthew West’s latest album, The Story of Your Life. Honestly, I can’t remember looking forward to a new project like I did this one; the songs are so powerful. Last week on Twitter (my sister now refers to me as a Twitter nerd), I posted the silly tweet, “5 days til release of new Matthew West album The Story of Your Life. Can’t wait. Sitting on the edge of my seat is getting uncomfortable.” I cracked up when Matthew West replied, “BiblicalBeauty, you should try sitting on the edge of a sofa, or maybe a beanbag chair. =) Maybe we will do a cd promo-buy Story of Your Life, get a seat cushion.”

Thankfully, the sofa, beanbag chair, and seat cushion are no longer necessary. The Story of Your Life was released yesterday and is now enjoying a comfortable spot on my iPod. Over the coming days, I’m going to share some of the stories behind Matthew’s songs with you. I think you’re going to enjoy them.

Here’s the video for “My Own Little World.” 

The Story of Your Life is available on iTunes for $9.99.

My Own Little World

In my own little world it hardly ever rains
I’ve never gone hungry, always felt safe
I got some money in my pocket shoes on my feet
In my own little world
Population: me

I try to stay awake through the Sunday morning church
I throw a twenty in the plate but I never give ’til it hurts
and I turn off the news when I don’t like what I see
it’s easy to do when it’s
Population: me

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now
outside my own little world

Stopped at the red light, looked out my window
Outside the car, saw a sign, said “Help this homeless widow”
Just above this sign was the face of a human
I thought to myself, “God, what have I been doing?”
So I rolled down my window and I looked her in the eye
Oh how many times have I just passed her by
I gave her some money then I drove on through
in my own little world there’s
Population: two

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now
outside my own little world

Start breaking my heart for what breaks Yours
give me open hands and open doors
put Your light in my eyes and let me see
that my own little world is not about me

3 thoughts on “Breaking out of “My Own Little World”

  1. Wow – powerful words and a great reminder.

    Recently I have really been asking God to break my heart and give me a vision – I’m excited (though I know it will hurt) to see what He does to bring glory to Himself!

    Thanks for sharing and keep the words of wisdom coming.

  2. Niki, jealousy doesn’t become you. ;)

    Kristen, what a great prayer. I’m also asking God to show me new ways I can reach others in His name. This song has been very convicting to me.

Leave a Reply

