Proverbs 31-Inspired Baking

I want to be like the noble woman of Proverbs 31, I really do, but I have to admit I’ve always felt somewhat hindered by a few of her outstanding character traits. In addition to that whole early-rising thing (although Evangelle is certainly helping me in that area!), I’ve also found her business savvy to be just a tad bit intimidating.

I don’t know anything about real estate or which fields would be worth buying. I think my sad little overgrown garden serves as sufficient proof that I lack the skills necessary for planting and tending a vineyard. And although I have taken a few sewing lessons, I’m still a long way from being able to sew linen garments or sashes that anyone would be willing to buy. :)

But…I have discovered in recent years that I do enjoy baking and decorating cakes. Maybe I could do something Proverbs 31-ish with that?

With that thought in mind, I’ve begun taking steps to turn my hobby into a little side business (probably very little). While I worked on getting the necessary license for selling cakes from home, I gave my friends the opportunity to help me expand my cake decorating portfolio by making their cakes at cost, and a few of them were kind enough to help me out.

Here are a few photos showing the fruits of my labor… 

Birthday cake for a young man

For a grasshopper-themed baby shower

This one was just for fun so I could try some new techniques

For a 2 year-old who loves trains

For a German Chocolate lover

A special cake for the 90th birthday of a WW2 veteran

A sweet 16 cake for a young lady who enjoys music

This week, I’m excited about having the opportunity to make a wedding cake for some dear friends who are getting married this coming Saturday. It should be fun, but a wedding cake is also a big responsibility.

Prayers for my sanity will be much appreciated!

15 thoughts on “Proverbs 31-Inspired Baking

    • Mitzi, I truly appreciate the prayer! God has helped me to avoid any disasters so far, but I’m always a bit nervous, especially during the delivery process. It’s the most nerve-wracking drive; I’m literally on the edge of my seat the entire way!

    • By putting a lot more time and effort into it than I had originally planned! =) I modeled it out of gumpaste and fondant and used wire supports for the legs.

  1. These are beautiful and I’d hire you in a “New-York minute” if I lived closer. CONGRATS on the wedding cake…please post pictures!! :)

  2. Pingback: The Cake | Precious Adornment

Leave a Reply

