Prayer for a Prodigal

“And he told them a parable to the effect
that they ought always to pray and not lose heart…”

Luke 18:1

Each day when Joseph and I pray for Evangelle, we ask God to give her a heart that’s tender to His Word, that she will hear the Gospel, believe it, and one day put her trust fully in Christ as her Savior. It’s what we want for our daughter more than anything else, and I can hardly imagine what it would be like to see Evangelle grow up and turn her back on the truth.

Many Christian mothers know exactly what that pain is like. Angela Yuan was one such woman. When her son Christopher announced that he was a homosexual and cut himself off from her and her husband as he spiraled deeper and deeper into a dangerous lifestyle of drugs and promiscuity, Angela anxiously awaited the day when Christopher would come to repentance.

And while she waited, she prayed faithfully and fervently. Each morning when she woke up, Angela would go into her little prayer closet where she would spend hours studying the Scriptures and begging God to rescue Christopher.

The following is one of the prayers Angela wrote out to remind herself not to give up in the battle for her son’s soul… 

Lord, I will stand in the gap for Christopher.

I will stand until the victory is won—until Christopher’s heart changes.

I will stand in the gap every day, and there I will fervently pray.

And Lord, just one favor. Don’t let me waver.

If things get quite rough, which they may, I will never give up on that son,
nor will You.

Though the enemy seeks to destroy, I will not quit as I intercede,
though it may take years.

I give You my fears and tears as I trust every moment, I plead.

After seven long years, Angela watched in awe as the Lord answered her prayers and miraculously transformed Christopher’s soul

Have you been praying for the salvation of a loved one for what seems far too long? Don’t give up! Angela Yuan’s story provides a vivid reminder that God hears and answers prayer and no one is beyond his reach.

Hear more of Angela and Christopher Yuan’s testimony in their Revive Our Hearts interview “Out of a Far Country.”

One thought on “Prayer for a Prodigal

Leave a Reply

