Beauty Supplements

Your daily dose of true beauty advice…

Loving our children is not always natural, nor is it always easy. But it is absolutely essential. Mothers must love their children. A mother’s constant love becomes the bedrock of security for her children. Before they leave home, there will be many times in their lives when it will seem to them that no one else loves them. Though they might wish for someone else’s love, their mother’s love will provide a North Star of security and hope in the midst of difficult days.

A favorite prayer (that I have prayed far more often than I ever imagined I would) goes like this:

Lord, help me to love my children as You do. Help me to see them as You do, to understand their needs as You do, to feel what they are feeling as You do. I cannot love my children as they need to be loved on my own. My children need Your love. I ask You to love my children through me.

I have prayed this prayer most often for the sake of my teenagers—that they might not ever experience even a hint of rejection, disdain, or indifference from their mother.

~Barbara Rainey in “A Mother’s Legacy

Photo: OBMonkey

One thought on “Beauty Supplements

  1. Any mother who prayers this prayer often and genuinely, is a wonderful person in my book, and I can imagine in God’s as well. I feel like we are running low on mothers like this now days, as we are in the midst of the “me, me, me” generation of parents. May more parents pray this prayer and live in this mindset.

Leave a Reply

