Pictures & Prayer Requests

Last week I shared a message from one of the staff members at Acacia Village who told us how much Evangelle was enjoying her photo album. Here are some new pictures we received of her with her book… 

I can’t help but wonder what’s going on in her little mind as she looks at
our photo. 

Maybe, “Hey, where’d you people go?”

This past weekend in Boston was a nice break for me. I was able to think and pray about Evangelle in a spirit of anticipation rather than in a desperate attempt to battle anxiety. Unfortunately, yesterday when I visited a Facebook group of adoptive families who are in our same situation (waiting for approval from the USCIS in Nairobi) and read about some families’ continued complications, I could feel the fear welling up again. 

When that experience was immediately followed by an update from Ethiopia on Evangelle’s bronchitis saying that she “has allergic for unknown thing” and has been put on a steroid for treatment, my heart was strongly tempted to be swept away with sadness. I want so badly to have our daughter safe at home and in our arms where we can love her and care for her in every way possible. A mommy simply isn’t meant to love her baby only from a distance.

I’m clinging to our Savior and reminding myself of these truths…

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you” (Isaiah 26:3).

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you” (Psalm 56:3).

Prayer requests:
  • Evangelle’s healing and strength
  • That we’ll receive confirmation from the USCIS that they have received our file
  • That the USCIS will approve our case without further complications
  • That Joseph and I will keep our trust in the Lord and bring Him glory through this process
  • The approval of our friends’ (Brian & Jeanne, Joe & Sarah) cases

Thank you again for supporting us in prayer through this journey!

17 thoughts on “Pictures & Prayer Requests

  1. Praying for you this morning, Missy. Love the new sweet pictures of your sweet girl! She looks so healthy:). Hopefully the bronchitis will clear up quick. I know that “creeping fear” you are fighting. It’s okay to yell and scream at it, lol, that’s what I used to have to do when Dane was little and I didn’t know how to fix him. Now I know I never could….only God, and He’s so much better at it than I am! ;)

  2. Praying for you daily, and often several times a day. The look on her beautiful face as she gazes at your picture is so sweet!!!

  3. Praying for all of you! Evangelle did look healthy when we were there, and I didn’t notice her wheezing. I also spoke to a few families at the Embassy appointment who were also sent to Nairobi. Seems like the average is about 4 – 5 days for approval, after the file has been received. They all saw it as a positive. Praying you hear something soon.

    • Thanks, Angie. I’m really wondering about the diagnosis of bronchitis; I certainly don’t want her on steroids if they’re not necessary. We’re definitely hoping that the USCIS will move more quickly than the Embassy and that we’ll hear from them soon.

  4. Praying as often as we think of it-which is a lot! What sweet pictures! I can imagine that the battle against the anxiety and fear is pretty fierce. I pray often for the Lord to grant you the grace to believe that He will make all things beautiful in His time. When the worry creeps into my mind about this situation, I say, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?” Sometimes, I even shout out loud, “NO!” :) But then, you know I’m a little weird like that ;) Love you so much!

  5. I LOVE the pictures Missy! We are praying daily, and I’m asking the Lord to give you peace while you wait. I have shared about Evangelle with several friends and we have a little prayer chain going for you. Sending lots of love, prayers, and hugs your way! :)

  6. I know how disheartening it is to know they are sick & you aren’t there to take care of them – praying for you during this tough time, it’s so easy for fear to creep in!!! Love you friend! Your papers should be arriving in Nairobi this week hopefully, praying right away they will clear you so atleast you can have some peace during the days it takes to get back to the Embassy.

  7. Missy, you continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. These pictures of Evangelle are absolutely adorable! She looks so intelligent (and beautiful, of course). You can see the wheels turning in her little mind.

  8. I’m praying, Missy. I love seeing these pictures. What a sweet reunion you will have with her! Praying it’s SOON!

  9. Praying for you all that God will give you peace through this situation and that He will move in a mighty way and this waiting process will quickly be over and you will have your little daughter safe and sound at home with you. God Bless

  10. Thank you for sharing these precious pictures. They are a reminder to me to pray faithfully. One of my favorite choir songs is “My Redeemer is Faithful and True”. I believe that, and I’m trusting in His faithfulness. Love you!

  11. You do not know me personally, but I’ve been following your story from seeing the link on a friends page. Injust wanted to let you know that you have other brothers and sisters in Chirst that are praying for you and your husband and your beautiful baby girl. We pray for favor upon your lives and this process as well as a break through. Thank you for sharing your story. I look forward to hearing of the victory that I know will take place. In His love, Dari

Leave a Reply

