Good News from a Distant Land

“Like cold water to a weary soul,
So is good news from a distant land.”

Proverbs 25:25

I received an unexpected email this weekend from someone I’ve never met. The news it contained refreshed my slightly weary heart… 

I had to search you out as I wanted to tell you that I saw your daughter yesterday! I walked up into the baby room…and I immediately recognized your daughter. She was laying on the floor and her dainty little legs were crossed in such a feminine way. :)  She was completely happy and content and was just looking around and smiling while making little noises. So precious and so beautiful! It is usually a bit difficult to tell the gender of the babies since they weren’t always dressed in gender revealing clothes, but I just don’t see how there is any way she could ever be mistaken for anything other than the sweet little girl that she is. Her face is SO feminine. 

This incredibly thoughtful message came from Rachael, another adoptive mother, who is in Ethiopia with her husband this week to bring their baby boy home. She told me that she has been following my blog recently, and that was how she was able to recognize Evangelle when she visited Acacia Village. 

Rachael’s message is another reminder to me of how great God’s compassion is toward His children. He didn’t have to prompt Rachael to write and share this sweet news with Joseph and me, but He did. Praise the Lord for encouraging us during this time through the words of a friend we’ve never met!

2 thoughts on “Good News from a Distant Land

Leave a Reply

