To Do: Love Others

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all
your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind,
and your neighbor as yourself.”

Luke 10:27

My perfectionistic tendencies are, in the words of the famed OCD detective Adrian Monk, both a blessing and a curse. When attempting to turn a cake into a work of art, perfectionism is my friend. In most other areas of life, however, the insatiable drive to have everything “just right” can function as a real stumbling block.

Take loving others, for instance. When I’m focused on accomplishing a goal or crossing every “t” and dotting every “i”, I can easily feel frustrated when people start “messing up” my plans or “interrupting” my schedule. Of course, the problem isn’t confined merely to how I prefer to get things done; I also struggle with my continual impulse to help everyone else cross their “t’s” and dot their “i’s” in just the right way. It’s sad to say, but loving others often feels far less pressing to me than does my desire to tie up the fraying ends of humanity.

If you, too, have adopted statements like “If a job’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right,” or “If you want something done right, you’d better do it yourself,” as life mottos, then I think you’ll find Jennifer Rothschild‘s counsel in this video to be convicting as I did. She encourages us to remember that no rule should ever be allowed to take priority over the one Jesus gave to “Love your neighbor as yourself”…  

Photo: Jan Willem Geertsma

 

 

Leave a Reply

