Compassion to Care for the Least

“I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink…”

Matthew 25:35

I read a story this morning that broke my heart. Mulu, a 25 year-old Ethiopian woman, was abducted by a man who wanted to take her as his wife. Since Mulu would be unlikely to find a husband after being disgraced in this way, her parents believed she should marry the man who abducted her. Following her marriage to the man, Mulu became pregnant twice. Her first child died after one week; her second after one month. When she became pregnant a third time, Mulu heard about an organization that was helping pregnant women in her area, Compassion International. There, Mulu was tested and discovered she was HIV-positive. She said:

What I heard drained the little hope I had. I couldn’t understand why my life was in such disarray. I hung on to every single word Zene was saying about how I can get through this. But when she told me that I can give birth to a healthy baby, I jumped up with joy. All my grief disappeared on that moment.

Through the medical care provided by Compassion’s Child Survival Program, Mulu was able to give birth to her baby girl without transmitting the virus. Now, Mulu cares for her little girl with the training she received through Compassion and uses the skills she learned there to sell corn and support her family.

Of course, I’ve heard of the work of Compassion many times, but I had never heard about their Child Survival Program until today. Reading this story from my comfortable home, blessed with good health and everything I need in life, I couldn’t help but ask myself if I’m doing enough to care for the least. I know the answer. No, I need to do more. I’m going to begin supporting Compassion’s Child Survival Program. After learning about the dire circumstances facing countless women and children around the world, perhaps you’ll want to support Compassion as well.

24,000 children under 5 die every day from preventable diseases, most within their first hours or days of life. But here’s the good news: you can do something about it.

Compassion’s Child Survival Program helps developing world mothers and babies in their most vulnerable times, offering practical care and extending God’s love. By joining with Compassion, you’re giving them the best chance at life. Read below to learn how you can help moms and babies break the cycle of poverty.

Compassion’s Child Survival Program helps to meet these basic needs:
  1. Prenatal Care
  2. Nutritious Food and Supplements
  3. Ongoing Health Care and Vaccinations
  4. Infant Survival Training
  5. Education and Encouragement
  6. Spiritual Nurturing and Faith Community
  7. Income Generating Opportunities
Visit Compassion International’s Child Survival Program website HERE.

Photo: Evan Earwicker

Leave a Reply

