Mirror, Mirror on the Wall…

“As for me, I shall behold Your face in righteousness; I will be satisfied with Your likeness when I awake.”

Psalm 17:15

Several years ago, I heard about a woman who conducted a rather unusual experiment by removing every mirror from her home for a set period of days. She took this radical step in an attempt to free herself from what she believed was an unhealthy fixation on her own reflection. Without a mirror to tell her who she was, this woman felt she could more accurately gauge her value and worth as a woman.

I have to admit; the idea of such an experiment makes me shiver. Life without mirrors? Yikes! Personally, I find that mirrors are very useful tools, especially when I’ve just finished eating a salad. Although I certainly wouldn’t want to go without them, I do recognize the danger of becoming too dependent on them as well. A mirror can tell us many things, but not much of what we see there truly matters.

In this video clip, Jennifer Rothschild emphasizes the importance of gazing into the only mirror that can accurately reflect who we really are.

Photo: Alex Bramwell

Leave a Reply

