Learning to Lead

“For the husband is the head of the wife even as Christ is the head of the church, his body, and is himself its Savior.”

Ephesians 5:23

A Christian wife’s greatest longing within marriage often turns out to be one of her husband’s greatest weaknesses. Spiritual leadership–it’s a vital issue, and one which causes conflict in countless marriages. Although many men understand God has given them the responsibility to lead and guide their families, most struggle to figure out exactly how to step up to the plate. When their husbands fail to take the lead, wives remain uncertain of what to do next–Should they lead the children in devotions? Should they continue trying to talk to their husbands about spiritual things? Where exactly is the line between encouraging and nagging?  

Matt and Sarah Hammitt are more than familiar with the conflict resulting from these all-too-common marital issues. As lead singer of the Christian band Sanctus Real, Matt recently wrote a song entitled “Lead Me” for the group’s latest album, Pieces of a Real Heart. The song expresses a husband’s heartfelt cry for help as he searches for the wisdom and strength necessary to lead his family. In the following video, Matt and Sarah share their experiences and the story behind the song in the hopes of inspiring other couples to fight for marriages that better reflect the glory of God’s divine design.  

“Lead Me”

I look around and see my wonderful life
Almost perfect from the outside
In picture frames I see my beautiful wife
Always smiling
But on the inside, I can hear her saying…

“Lead me with strong hands
Stand up when I can’t
Don’t leave me hungry for love
Chasing dreams, what about us?

Show me you’re willing to fight
That I’m still the love of your life
I know we call this our home
But I still feel alone”

I see their faces, look in their innocent eyes
They’re just children from the outside
I’m working hard, I tell myself they’ll be fine
They’re independent
But on the inside, I can hear them saying…

“Lead me with strong hands
Stand up when I can’t
Don’t leave me hungry for love
Chasing dreams, but what about us?

Show me you’re willing to fight
That I’m still the love of your life
I know we call this our home
But I still feel alone”

So Father, give me the strength
To be everything I’m called to be
Oh, Father, show me the way
To lead them
Won’t You lead me?

To lead them with strong hands
To stand up when they can’t
Don’t want to leave them hungry for love,
Chasing things that I could give up

I’ll show them I’m willing to fight
And give them the best of my life
So we can call this our home
Lead me, ’cause I can’t do this alone

Father, lead me, ’cause I can’t do this alone

Video: Brightbulb Entertainment

Photo: constantin jurcut

Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

