Yak, yak, yak. Blah, blah, blah.

“When words are many, transgression is not lacking,
but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.”
Proverbs 10:19

 

When I was but a youngster, I remember getting a kick out of this silly song on the oldies station:

You talk too much, you worry me to death.
You talk too much, you even worry my pet.
You just talk, talk too much.

You talk about people that you don’t know.
You talk about people wherever you go.
You just talk, talk too much.

You talk about people that you never seen.
You talk about people, you can make me scream.
You just talk, talk too much.

Talking too much–it’s an amusing topic for a song, but can be a miserable problem to handle in real life. Ask any elementary school teacher you know.  :)

In this video, Mike Emlet of the Christian Counseling and Educational Foundation offers some biblically-based counsel on how to gently and lovingly address the yakkety-yakkers in your life.

Photo: Aschwin Prein

Share/Bookmark

One thought on “Yak, yak, yak. Blah, blah, blah.

  1. I remember that song! I always thought it was a children’s song (as i learned it in elementary school), but I guess not!

Leave a Reply

